Data-driven campaigning: how and why do political parties do it?

Dave Levy
10 min readFeb 16, 2024

“Other people have good ideas”

I attended a lecture last week, it was advertised by its conveners on twitter. The lecture was videoed and I am expecting the video to be posted on Youtube. I’ve made some notes, some about what the lecturers said and some about the thoughts they provoked. I try to offer some value on this blog, however much of this article is reporting the views of the three lecturers; I hope there’s enough of what I say to be worth the read.

Data-driven campaigning: how and why do political parties do it?

At 6:15pm today, join @KateDommett, @MiriamSorace and Louise Edwards @ElectoralCommUK in person at this free event to hear about Kate’s new book and discuss just this.

Sign up 👉 https://t.co/fOT9t3FBLR. pic.twitter.com/1jumVFGo1X

- Constitution Unit (@ConUnit_UCL) February 8, 2024

Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

The key speaker was Professor Kate Dommett (X:@katedommett) of Sheffield University. She has written a book with a similar title, and I have found this page, although I am not sure if it’s a review or an advertisement. However, the book seems well sourced, and covers numerous geographies.

We ask if Data driven campaigning is to be feared? Recent interest about the…

--

--

Dave Levy

Brit, Londoner, economist, Labour, privacy, cybersecurity, traveller, father - mainly writing about UK politics & IT, https://linktr.ee/davelevy